Electro Technical Council of Ireland

ETCI Apprentice Awards

The concept of Apprenticeship Awards was first mooted in November 1992 in order to foster a greater awareness of electrical safety, to recognise the achievements of Ireland's top electrical apprentices and to strengthen ETCI's links with the Electrotechnical Education Centres. With the assistance the Department of Education, this concept came to fruition for the 1992-93 academic year with the presentation of awards at ELEX 94, the National Electrotechnical Exhibition.

In 2001, ETCI revised its electrical apprentice award scheme in line with the new system of electrical apprenticeship. The present ETCI Electrical Apprentice Awards consist of two prizes which are presented to the prizewinners in Electrical Commercial Installation and in Electrical Industrial Installation of the National Apprentice Competition.

Prior to 2001, the ETCI awards were based on results of the Senior Trade Certificate Examinations received from the Department of Education. Prizes were given to the three apprentices who scored highest marks in specified subjects in these examinations.

Since the inception of the ETCI Apprentice Awards, the Managing Director of Electrofast Ltd., Mr. Eamonn Cullen, and the General Manager of Instrument Technology Limited, Mr. Paul Sharkey, have generously donated prizes. Electrofast Limited donate the prize for the Electrical Commercial Installation Category and normally consists of a Robin Multifunction Tester. Instrument Technology Limited donate the prize for the Electrical Industrial Installation Category and normally consists of a Megger CM500 Test Kit. The support and generosity of Eamonn Cullen and Paul Sharkey throughout the years is greatly appreciated by ETCI.

Prize Winners - ETCI Apprentice Awards


  • Electrical Commercial Installation: David Gough.
  • Electrical Industrial Installation: Eric Cunneen.
  • Electrical Commercial Installation: Thomas Sheridan.
  • Electrical Industrial Installation: Martin Smith.
  • Electrical Commercial Installation: Daniel Ryall.
  • Electrical Industrial Installation: Barry Bolger.
  • Electrical Commercial Installation: Nicky Carr.
  • Electrical Industrial Installation: Gavin O'Dwyer.
  • Electrical Commercial Installation: Michael Kinsella.
  • Electrical Industrial Installation: Sean Stack.


  • Electrical Commercial Installation: Noel Flynn
  • Electrical Industrial Installation: Raymond Finnegan.


  • Electrical Commercial Installation: Stephen Flannery
  • Electrical Industrial Installation: Seamus O'Leary.


  • Electrical Commercial Installation: Conor Casey
  • Electrical Industrial Installation: Declan Sheehan.


  • Electrical Commercial Installation: Donal Caples, ESB.
  • Electrical Industrial Installation: Paul Harrington, ESB.






Brian King,
DIT, Kevin Street.
Robert Byrne*,
DIT, Kevin Street
(* Joint Second)
Brian Redmond*
DIT, Kevin Street
(* Joint Second)


Martin Walshe,
Galway-Mayo IT
Jason Roche,
CIT, Cork
Brian Moran,
DIT, Kevin Street


James Tyrell
DIT, Kevin Street
Justin McCarthy *
DIT, Kevin Street
(* Joint Second)
Raymond Wims*
RTC, Galway
(* Joint Second)


Gerard O'Sullivan
RTC, Cork
Donal Meehan
DIT, Kevin Street
John Lynch
RTC, Dundalk


Andrew Fogarty
DIT, Kevin Street.
Marcus Farrell
RTC, Galway
Darren Sullivan
RTC, Galway


Diarmuid Meagher,
AAS Naas
Daniel O'Byrne
RTC, Limerick
Robert Donnelly
DIT, Kevin Street


James Johnston,
RTC Galway
Patrick O'Brien,
RTC, Cork
Karl Warrington,
DIT, Kevin Street



ETCI Offices, Unit H12, Centrepoint Business Park, Oak Road, Dublin 12, Ireland
Tel:+353-1-4290088 | Fax:+353-1-4290090 | Email: | Legal | Links | © 2014
Site hosted by Festino Solutions